Corrymeela News


Corrymeela Appoints New Officers

14 Dec 2020

Corrymeela is very pleased to announce the appointment of a new Chair, two Vice–Chairs and Treasurer to its governing board.


Michael Wardlow has been elected as Chair of Corrymeela’s Council. Until March of this year, Michael was the Chief Commissioner of the Equality Commission, and continues to chair the NI Police Fund. He previously chaired the boards of Mediation NI and ECONI, and served on the board of the Community Relations Council. He has a doctorate in education and a master’s degree in theology. 

Brid Cullen and Colleen Brown have been elected to the role of Vice–Chair of Council. Both are long–serving members of the Corrymeela Community. Brid, who lives in Edinburgh, brings extensive experience as a director of national third sector organisations with a focus on community development and volunteering. Colleen works in Dublin with families, communities and organisations in the areas of trauma, grief and peacebuilding. 

George Ong has been elected as Corrymeela’s Honorary Treasurer. George has been the Head of Corporate Governance and Risk Management at NI Water since 2006. In that role he has revolutionised the organisation’s approach to governance and risk management and has received the top British and European awards for risk management and innovative insurance. His professional passions include championing wellbeing, corporate social responsibility, and sustainability issues.

We are also pleased to announce that member Ann Hart–Henderson was elected to Council at the Community’s AGM on 28th November 2020.

The appointments of the Chair and Treasurer followed an extensive recruitment process open to members of the Corrymeela Community and to the public. This is the first time that Corrymeela has appointed officers from outside the membership. Each appointee brings extraordinary expertise to their respective positions and together provide complementary strength to our Council.

Corrymeela Council for 2021:

Michael Wardlow, Chair                                                Francis Brady

Colleen Brown, Vice–chair                                          Debs Erwin

Brid Cullen, Vice–chair                                              Ann Hart–Henderson

George Ong, Honorary Treasurer                              Eleanor Hayes

Mary Magennis

Bronagh Vos

Trevor Williams


Council also wishes to express sincere thanks to Corrymeela member Leslie Brown for serving as the minute taker at its meetings.